E Komo Mai…

Aloha! Welcome to the Kapi`olani Community College Faculty Senate Homepage!

The Senate’s role is to ensure faculty governance. We aim to do this, by honoring those who came before us, and continuing their principles of inclusivity and collaboration throughout the process. We welcome our campus `ohana to share their voices so that we work together to make our campus – a place, a community that lives to proudly uphold Queen Kapi`olani’s motto, “Kulia I Ka Nu`u – Strive for the highest.” Please join us at our general meetings (see calendar) to share your mana`o – your insights, thoughts, and ideas.

The Senate commits to representing the Queen by ensuring that our words and actions are pono (goodness, fair, just) and transparent, and carried out with integrity and respect. We promise to listen and make decisions and recommendations that will enhance and advance our campus community.

The Senate consists of 16 senators, elected to represent the voices and perspectives of their departments/programs/units. If you have any relevant concerns, issues, or requests, please contact your Senator today. Or, please feel free to email us at kapccfs@hawaii.edu.

Senators 2014-2015

Senator Email Department
John Berestecky johnb@hawaii.edu Math & Sciences
Edward (Chico) Caballero ecaballe@hawaii.edu Emergency Medical Services
Donna DeMello mellode@hawaii.edu Nursing
Sheryl Fuchino-Nishida fuchino@hawaii.edu Hospitality
Katrina Ghazanfar ghazanfa@hawaii.edu Health Sciences
Grant Itomitsu, Vice Chair gitomits@hawaii.edu Culinary Arts
Susan Inouye, Member-at-Large inouye@hawaii.edu Languages, Linguistics, & Literature
Ann Ishida-Ho ishidaho@hawaii.edu Continuing Education
Cynthia Kimura ckimura@hawaii.edu Business, Legal, & Technology
Kristie Malterre, Member-at-Large kristies@hawaii.edu Kahikoluamea
Teri Mitchell tdurland@hawaii.edu Student Affairs
Karl Naito knaito@hawaii.edu Library & CELLT
Liz Nakoa nakoae@hawaii.edu Arts & Humanities
Veronica Ogata, Chair vogata@hawaii.edu Social Sciences
Shannon Sakamoto, Secretary sks78@hawaii.edu Maida Kamber Center