E Komo Mai…

Aloha! Welcome to the Kapi`olani Community College Faculty Senate Homepage!

The Senate strongly believes in and practices shared governance and acknowledges the strength of the faculty voice and their collective wisdom in guiding the process. We honor those who came before us by continuing their principles of inclusivity and collaboration, and welcome our campus `ohana to share their voices. We can and we must work together to make our College – a place, a community that lives to proudly uphold Queen Kapi`olani’s motto, “Kulia I Ka Nu`u – Strive for the highest.” Please join us at our general meetings (FS Information Flyer-Fall 2014) to share your mana`o – your insights, thoughts, and ideas.

We honor those in the present and those who will come after us by demonstrating our commitment to representing the Queen, and ensuring that our words and actions are pono (goodness, fair, just), transparent, and carried out with integrity and respect. We promise to listen and make decisions and recommendations that will enhance and advance our College and the campus community.

The Senate consists of 16 senators, elected to represent the voices and perspectives of their departments/programs/units. If you have any relevant concerns, issues, or requests, please contact your Senator today. Or, please feel free to email us at kapccfs@hawaii.edu.

We look forward to hearing from you! Mahalo, The 2014-2015 Faculty Senate Team

Senators 2014-2015

Senator Email Department
John Berestecky johnb@hawaii.edu Math & Sciences
Edward (Chico) Caballero ecaballe@hawaii.edu Emergency Medical Services
Donna DeMello mellode@hawaii.edu Nursing
Sheryl Fuchino-Nishida fuchino@hawaii.edu Hospitality
Katrina Ghazanfar ghazanfa@hawaii.edu Health Sciences
Grant Itomitsu, Vice Chair gitomits@hawaii.edu Culinary Arts
Susan Inouye, Member-at-Large inouye@hawaii.edu Languages, Linguistics, & Literature
Ann Ishida-Ho ishidaho@hawaii.edu Continuing Education
Cynthia Kimura ckimura@hawaii.edu Business, Legal, & Technology
Kristie Malterre, Member-at-Large kristies@hawaii.edu Kahikoluamea
Teri Mitchell tdurland@hawaii.edu Student Affairs
Karl Naito knaito@hawaii.edu Library & CELLT
Liz Nakoa nakoae@hawaii.edu Arts & Humanities
Joe Overton overton@hawaii.edu Honda International Center
Veronica Ogata, Chair vogata@hawaii.edu Social Sciences
Shannon Sakamoto, Secretary sks78@hawaii.edu Maida Kamber Center

 

Faculty Senate Calendar

calendar_colors1