Distance Education

This committee has the following duties:
Study, discuss, and make recommendations regarding:

  1. Issues affecting distance education courses, including curriculum and instruction, evaluation and assessment, academic support services, technology, accessibility, and accreditation standards
  2. Policies, including but not limited to enrollment, office hours, faculty workload
  3. Faculty development and support in pedagogy and technology to ensure that faculty who teach distance education courses are able to provide engaging, learner-centered environments

Chairperson: Kelli Nakamura
Vice Chairperson: 

Distance Education Plan Final Version (PDF)

Meeting Dates, Times and Location Listed Below:  AY 2017-2018

DATE TIME LOCATION
 Oct 6  10-11:30 AM  Naio 207
 Nov 3  10-11:30 AM  Naio 207
 Dec 1  10-11:30 AM  Naio 207
 Jan 12  10-11:30 AM  Naio 207
Feb 2 10-11:30 AM Naio 207
Mar 9 10-11:30 AM Naio 207
Apr 6 10-11:30 AM Naio 207
May 4 10-11:30 AM Naio 207

Members

Department Representative Email Address
Arts and Humanities Kelli Nakamura (Chair)

Adam Moura, (non-voting)

kellinak@hawaii.edu

adam.k.moura@hawaii.edu
Business, Legal and Technology Education Susan Jaworowski susanjaw@hawaii.edu
Distance Ed. Coordinator Leigh Dooley ldooley@hawaii.edu
College Advancement and Continuing Education Melissa Nakamura maknakam@hawaii.edu
CULN Grant Itomitsu

Dan Swift (non-voting)

gitomits@hawaii.edu

dan danswift@hawaii.edu

Emergency Medical Services OPEN  –
Health Sciences Jung Kim jungeun@hawaii.edu
Honda International Center Cy Feng (non-voting)

Joseph Overton

cfeng7@hawaii.edu

overton@hawaii.edu

Hospitality Education Laura Burke  lsburke@hawaii.edu
Languages, Linguistics and Literature Satoru Shinagawa ssatoru@hawaii.edu
Library/CELTT Helen Torigoe

Marisa Yamada (non-voting)

htorigoe@hawaii.edu

myamada@hawaii.edu

Maida Kamber Center OPEN  –
Math and Science Nadine Worlff (non-voting)
nwolff@hawaii.edu
Nursing Debbie Harrison dharris1@hawaii.edu
OCET Melissa Nakamura maknakam@hawaii.edu
Social Sciences Dennis Nullet dennis@hawaii.edu
Student Services Kristie Malterre

Teri Mitchell (non-voting)

kristies@hawaii.edu

tdurland@hawaii.edu